This class is the full 8 hour State approved Enhanced Handgun course. Those who complete this course can obtain the Enhanced Handgun permit issued by Tennessee.
The law has changed effective January 1, 2020. You may take an online course that is about 1.5 to 3 hours long and then obtain a Concealed Only Handgun Permit - that allows you to carry concealed only and restricts where one may carry. The online classes cost anywhere from $20 to $40 depending on where you take it. I am unable at this time to address Reciprocity on this site - my research shows most states have not updated their reciprocity based on the new law. The law, however made assumptions that those obtaining the Concealed Only permit probably would not be traveling out of State.
The regular Tennessee Handgun Carry class is about 8 hours long. Successfully completing this class enables you to obtain an Enhanced Handgun permit that allows either concealed or open carry and is less restrictive about where to carry. This permit is addressed in the Reciprocity maps.
My Handgun Carry class costs $50.
In either case you have to pay a fee to the state to obtain your permit after the class.
To be eligible for this class:
You must not be prohibited from purchasing or possessing a handgun in this or any other state. Also, you cannot have, or be, any of the following:
•Felony conviction or currently under indictment for a felony conviction
•Charge pending or convicted of Domestic Violence
•Charge pending or convicted of Stalking
•Two convictions for DUI in 10 years and one of those being within the last 5 years or currently be under the jurisdiction of the court for DUI
•Order of Protection or restraining order filed against you
•Adjudicated as a mental defective or committed to or hospitalized in a mental institution
•Receiving social security disability benefits by reason of alcohol dependence, drug dependence, or mental disability
This class consists of at least 5 hours classroom and 2 hours pistol range. You will need at least 50 rounds of ammunition for the pistol you bring. You are encouraged to bring the pistol you intend to carry, however any pistol that is in proper working order is acceptable.
Class size is limited to 20 and the minimum is 4. Payment is required to reserve your seat.
Cost of this class is $50.00 if payment is made in advance. Payment on the day of class is $65.00.
June 20, 2020
July 25, 2020
All class times are 8:30 AM till 5:30 PM